DBS Check Guide: Basic, Standard, and Enhanced

When doing a DBS check, it is important that you can understand the differences between the three types, especially as an employer. So, we’ve created a DBS check guide to the three tiers of DBS check.

Applying for the wrong type of check for your employees will either waste time and money when it inevitably gets rejected, or result in you breaking the law if the required DBS check is not requested.

DBS Check Guide – What Does DBS Mean?

DBS stands for ‘Disclosure and Barring Service’, which is a non-departmental public body of the Home Office. Their aim is to help employers make safer recruitment decisions, in return protecting themselves and others. 

Prior to 2012, the DBS was known as the Criminal Record Bureau (CRB).

DBS Check Guide – What Is a DBS Check?

A DBS check, depending on the level selected, is an official document that states an individual’s criminal convictions. They are used by employers to ensure that when hiring someone, a well-informed and suitable decision for the role in question can be made. The higher the level of DBS check requested, the more information is included on the certificate. 

As we will discuss later, DBS checks are also essential in keeping children and vulnerable adults safe.

dbs check guide

DBS Check Guide – What Are The Types Of DBS Checks?

There are three levels of DBS checks: Basic, Standard, and Enhanced (with or without the barred list checks).

Depending on the role you are recruiting for will depend on the level of check you need.

DBS Check Guide – What Is A Basic DBS Check?

This type of check will only show:

– An individual’s unspent criminal history.
– Convictions and cautions that are held on the Police National Computer. 

A Basic DBS check is a criminal record check that shows an individual’s unspent convictions. Anybody can request this – either an individual or employer. 

It is usually requested for positions such as builders, couriers, and call centre workers – often used as a reference to help aid the recruitment process.

DBS Check Guide – What Is A Standard DBS Check?

A Standard DBS check is a criminal record check that shows both spent and unspent convictions. It can only be requested by employers. This will show an individual’s: 

– Spent and unspent convictions.
– Cautions.
– Reprimands. 

It is used to ensure that the applicant is suitable for a position of higher responsibility, such as lawyers, security guards, and accountants.

DBS Check Guide – What Is A Enhanced DBS Check?

The Enhanced DBS check shows spent and unspent convictions, as well as any relevant information held by the local police force. It can only be requested for specific roles that are included in ROA 1974 (Exceptions Order 1975) and the Police Act 1997 regulations.

In summary, an Enhanced DBS checks show: 

– Spent and Unspent Convictions.
– Cautions.
– Reprimands.
– Any other relevant information held by the local police force. 

If necessary, a check of the Barred List (Children and/or Vulnerable Adults) can be requested.

How Can Employers Get DBS Checks?

Employers can get their DBS checks online through Registered Umbrella Bodies, like Aaron’s Department. 

Should you want further clarification, please feel free to give our team a ring on 0113 877 0171, or send over an email to contact@aaronsdepartment.com where we will be more than happy to help. 

Want to start applying for your DBS checks using our online system? Just hit the button below!

Inline Feedbacks
View all comments